The Heart of St. Mary's Award

The Heart of St. Mary's Award honors and recognizes those whose work within the church or in the wider community is a witness to the love of Jesus Christ.

A nominee for the Heart of St. Mary's Award:

- Lives out our shared mission: "to know Christ and to make Christ known"
- Encourages the people of St. Mary's in building up of the ministry of all the baptized
- Encourages persons of all ages and generations, through the affirmation of their gifts and efforts
- ✤ Is a person of service and prayer
- Models care and concern for the good of all the church's ministries and people
- Models hospitality to the stranger, visitor, and newcomer
- Supports and encourages the church staff in their work and ministry on behalf of St. Mary's
- Demonstrates respect for a variety of thoughts and opinions and is considerate of others' feelings
- Upholds the dignity of every person

The Selection committee is comprised of the Rector, Associate Rector, and two staff representatives.

Nominations may be made by emailing the church office.

Awards are announced during the Annual Meeting in February.

Previous Recipients of The Heart of St. Mary's Award

2004 Neb Forsythe, special reception (award hadn't been named at this time)

- 2005 Annual meeting (award for 2004) Kathy Black Lowell Thomas Charles Jackson
- 2006 Annual meeting (award for 2005) Don Schulz Ruby Jo Bixler
- 2007 Annual meeting (award for 2006) Marilyn Barry Joe and Rachel Baldwin Sherrie Simmonds
- 2008 Annual meeting (award for 2007) Judy Veerman Dick Veerman Jean Kaufman Winnie Nowak
- 2009 Annual meeting (award for 2008) Penny Cowan Betty Newman Liz Rockwell Brad and Susan Sewell
- 2010 Annual meeting (award for 2009) Marcia Nattrass Ned Strange Greg Wilkinson
- 2011 Annual meeting (award for 2010) Bob and Nancy Dawson Margaret Sharrow Tay Thomas
- 2012 Annual Meeting (award for 2011) Mike McCormack Karol Libbey Jeanie Ryan
- 2013 Annual Meeting (award for 2012) Alice Smith

Susan Burch Jane Thomas

- 2014 Annual Meeting (award for 2013) Bruce and Teresa Neeno Laura Vidrine Teddy Ann Arnold Maggie Wilkinson
- 2015 Annual Meeting (award for 2014) Thelma Snow Jackson Hannah Moderow Bob Bradley Nancy Talbott
- 2016 Annual Meeting (award for 2015) Valerie Buckendorf Marion Richter Sarah Smith Sara Gavit
- 2017 Annual Meeting (award for 2016) Ross Aldridge Sarah Stanley Heidi Marlowe Sandra DeHart Mayor
- 2018 Annual Meeting (award for 2017) Rashmika Paton Deb Sandar Jessica Sulley Georgianna Lincoln
- 2019 Annual Meeting (award for 2018) Duane Heyman Robbin LaVine and Kevin Tritt Jann and Bob Sherrill Kelly and Erin Ballantyne
- 2020 Annual Meeting (award for 2019) Jeri Anderson Maggie McKay Arianne Morrison Ross McKay

- 2021 Annual Meeting (award for 2020) Steve Ericson Jeanne Smith Kate McClellan Kris Green
- 2022 Annual Meeting (award for 2021) Rachel Mason Sara Stoops Brian Malone Ruth Fahl
- 2023 Annual Meeting (award for 2022) Kathryn McCormack Marcus Carter Amy Lindsey Eric Backman
- 2024 Annual Meeting (award for 2023) Rilene Ann Charlene Davis Gretchen Bersch Matt & Janel Kam-Magruder Linda Vosele